Board of Trustees

Mercer University is governed by a 45-member Board of Trustees, which has responsibility for overall policy-making for the University. The Articles of Incorporation and the Bylaws of the Corporation of Mercer University clearly define the powers, duties, and responsibilities of the Board of Trustees. The Board is responsible for establishing broad institutional goals and for securing the resources to support the University’s programs. The Board of Trustees fulfills its responsibilities through eight standing committees – Audit; Development; Educational Policy; Executive; Finance, Investment and Property; University Athletics; University Marketing Committee; and University Honors – and through established procedures to ensure that it is adequately informed about the programs and general condition of the University.

The Board of Trustees has adopted a Conflict of Interest Policy for Trustees, Officers, and Key Employees that is intended to serve as guidance for all persons employed by the University in positions of significant responsibility.

Questions concerning the Board of Trustees should be directed to the Office of General Counsel and Secretary of the Corporation.

Board of Trustees 2018

Cathy Callaway Adams - Board Chair
TIFT ’81

William Anthony (Tony) Moye - Chair of Board's Executive Committee
PHA ’73

Curtis G. Anderson

William H. "Billy" Anderson II
CLA ’59

Barbara (Babs) Baugh

G. Holmes Bell IV
CLA ’01

Tom Bishop
CLA '82, LAW '85

Carolyn McAfee Bruner

Malcolm S. Burgess Jr.

G. Marshall Butler, Sr.

Charlie Cantrell

Ashley Amos Copelan
CLA ’91, EDU ’96

Milton L. Cruz
CLA ’82

Patricia (Patty) Bridges Dash
NUR ’68

Dwight Davis
LAW ’82

The Honorable Sara L. Doyle
LAW ’94

James C. Elder, Jr.
CLA ’77

Nancy Grace
CLA ’81, LAW ’84

Benjamin W. (Benjy) Griffith, III
CLA ’77

William Andrew (Andy) Haggard
LAW ’67

Robert F. Hatcher Sr.

James N. (Dock) Hollingsworth Jr.
CLA ’84, DIV ’08

David E. Hudson
CLA ’68

Genelle Jennings

Shaun King

J. Curtis Lewis, III

David Linch
BUS ’80

Julie Whidden Long
CLA ’02, DIV ’05

A. Rabun Matthews, III

J. Thomas (Tom) McAfee, III

BUSA '00

Jackie Baugh Moore

The Honorable Maxine Cynthia (Cindy) Morris
CLA '80, LAW '84

J. Reg Murphy
CLA ’55, HON ’75

M. Diane Owens
CLA ’77, LAW ’80

W. Carl Reynolds
CLA ’64, LAW ’66

A. Miller (Pete) Robinson
LAW ‘80

Joe Sam Robinson Jr.

The Honorable W. Louis Sands
LAW ’74, CLA ’71

Richard A. "Doc" Schneider
LAW ’81

Ed Schutter
PHA '77

Chris R. Sheridan Jr.

J. Daniel Speight
LAW ’82

Barbara Brown Taylor

Raymond M. (Thad) Warren, III
CLA ‘86

Jerry S. Wilson
BUS ‘86

William D. (Bill) Underwood - Ex Officio, voting

Life Trustees

President Jimmy Carter

The Honorable W. Homer Drake, Jr. 
LAW ’56, CLA ’54

Spencer B. King, III
CLA ‘59

Life Trustees In Memoriam

Griffin B. Bell
LAW ’48, HON ’67

Thomas B. (Tom) Black

William A. (Gus) Bootle
CLA ’24, LAW ’25, HON ’82

Tom Watson Brown

James H. Cowart

Remer H. Crum
HON ’01

Frank Jordan

Gerald Saunders
HON ’87

Robert L. (Bob) Steed
HON ’79, LAW ’61, CLA ’58

Jackson P. (Jack) Turner, Jr.